The Texas Trails Council is a non-profit, community-based, youth-serving organization providing service to 17.5 counties in West central Texas. The council provides programs in each community for boys and girls in Kindergarten through age 20, and co-ed youth through various Scouting Programs.

Our districts have supported Scouting since 1929.

  • Buffalo Mountain District - Stonewall, Fisher, Haskell, Jones, Nolan, and Taylor Counties, with Albany, Baird, Clyde and Winters ISDs
  • Pecan Valley District - Lampasas, San Saba, Brown, Mills, and Coleman Counties
  • Old Comanche Trails District - Stephens, Erath, Eastland, and Comanche Counties, with Moran and Cross Plains ISDs

The Council supports Cub Scout Packs, Scout Troops, and Venture Crews which are operated by chartered organizations.

Texas Trails trains adult volunteers, provides insurance protection, operates Camp Billy Gibbons & Camp Tonkawa, provides council-wide programs & activities, and raises funds necessary to maintain the organization.

United Way of Abilene provides part of the operating budget. United Way of Erath County is another source. The balance is raised from donations, Friends of Scouting, popcorn sales, endowment income, special events and user-based fees.

Scout Shop

Monday:  10:00 to 5:00

Tuesday – Friday:  9:00 to 5:00

Closed Saturday & Sunday


Service Center

Monday:  10:00 to 5:00

Tuesday - Friday: 9:00 to 5:00
Closed Saturday & Sunday

Texas Trails Council BSA
3811 N. 1st St., Abilene, TX 79603
Phone (325) 677-2688
Fax (325) 677-2923

Parent Hub

Activities Calendar
Join Scouts
Scout Shop
BSA Uniforms
Life to Eagle Toolkit

Volunteer Hub

Calendar Search
Guide to Safe Scouting
Journey to Excellence
Scouting Wire
Youth Recruitment